historical fiction · review · YA

Review: The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne

24737113Series: Standalone

Released: 24th September, 2016

Publisher: Penguin Random House UK

Genre(s): YA, historical fiction

Length: 215

My rating: 5/5 stars

Links: Goodreads// bookdepository// booktopia

 

Goodreads synopsis:

When Pierrot becomes an orphan, he must leave his home in Paris for a new life with his Aunt Beatrix, a servant in a wealthy household at the top of the German mountains. But this is no ordinary time, for it is 1935 and the Second World War is fast approaching; and this is no ordinary house, for this is the Berghof, the home of Adolf Hitler.

Quickly, Pierrot is taken under Hitler’s wing, and is thrown into an increasingly dangerous new world: a world of terror, secrets and betrayal, from which he may never be able to escape.

pastel dots

My thoughts:

The boy at the top of the mountain is an incredible story of the protagonist, Pierrot growing up in 1935. We see that at the beginning of the story, Pierrot lives in Paris with his mum and dad. However after a tragic event, Pierrot was forced to move to an orphanage in Germany.

I loved The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and therefore I had really high expectations for this book. Well, I’m glad to say that this book exceeded my expectations.  I cannot express how heartbreaking this book is. Personally, I really connected to Pierrot as a character because I also had to move countries just like he did. He was such an innocent and understanding kid and that’s why I really liked Pierrot.

"If he's ancient," asked Beatrix, "what does that make me?"
  Pierrot hesitated for a moment. "Prehistoric," he said, giggling, 
and Beatrix burst out laughing.

I really enjoyed the French component in this book! There would be some French and German in some chapters and I found that this adds a really nice touch to the story as it really pulls the reader into their world in 1935. For some reason this book reminded me of The Book Thief because it also had some German throughout the story. I actually understood most of the French phrases used in this book because currently I’m taking French as an elective at school.

The character development was done extremely well! The change of Pierrot’s personality is gradually but you can tell that he is indeed not as soft-hearted as he was before in Paris after he moved to live on the top of the mountain (hence the book title).

There honestly isn’t anything that I didn’t enjoy in this book. I would recommend this book to any reader who likes a great historical fiction and quick read.

Have you read anything by John Boyne? Did you enjoy it? Leave your thoughts below as I’d love to hear your thoughts! ❤

Happy reading!

Breanna x

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

