historical fiction · review · YA

Review: The Book Thief By Markus Zusak

The Book Thief B CVR SI.inddSeries: Standalone

Released: 2005

Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia

Genre(s): YA, historical fiction,

Length: 584 pages

My rating: 4/5 stars

Links: Goodreads// bookdepository// booktopia

Goodreads synopsis:

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

pastel dots

My thoughts:

The Book Thief is a story about Liesel Meminger, a German girl living in Nazi Germany and her relationship with a Jewish fist fighter, Max. This is such a lovely read but I’m sad to say that I didn’t love it. I’ve tried to read this book once before actually finishing it. The first time I read TBT, I was about half way into the book when I kinda lost interest and stopped reading. However, I knew that I need to give this book another chance and actually finish it because I’ve heard SO MUCH good things about this book, and I’m glad that I finished reading it.

First of all, I loved the relationship between Liesel and Max! I could honestly say that when they first met in the basement the story took an unexpected twist. Both Liesel and Max has their own struggles. Liesel had to deal with her brother’s death and her mother not being there, and Max has to survive in Nazi Germany being a Jew. The nightmares and words were what brought Liesel and Max together and I was so happy when Max would teach Liesel how to read. Their connection reflects how thought out Markus Zusak’s planning of the plot was.

"I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I've made them
right."

I also loved how this story was told from Death’s point of view. I mean how cool is that? I’ve never read anything that has Death as the narrator and it’s just really great! You can tell that Death also has a soft side (apart from taking people’s lives) because he would pay attention to what Liesel was doing which is such a cool interpretation because most people thinks that death is just cruel and unforgiving.

Oh my goodness. The drawings adds such nice visuals to the book especially with the book being so jam packed with words, the drawings gives your eyes a break. The little notes in between the chapters were also really nice because you get to know the background stories or the meaning of words.

However, like I’ve said before, the first time I’ve read this book I was about half way in and I slowly lost interest in it. I guess that is because the chapters were so lengthy but I do realise that it does add a lot of small details to the story. I’m just not a fast reader so if the plot moves really slowly I would eventually lose interest in it.

Overall, this book has a great plot and lots of original ideas. I’d definitely recommend everyone to go read The Book Thief if you haven’t already done so.

Have you read TBT? What are you thoughts on it? Have you seen the movie adaptation?I’d love to hear your thoughts. ❤

Happy reading!

Breanna x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Review: The Book Thief By Markus Zusak

Leave a Reply

