crime · mystery · review · thriller · YA

Review: Beautiful Malice By Rebecca James

9781742373003Series: Standalone

Released: January 1st, 2010

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

Genre: YA, thriller, mystery, crime

Length: 283 pages

My rating: 4.5/5 stars

Links: Goodreads// bookdepository// booktopia

 

Goodreads synopsis:

Who is Katherine Patterson? It is a question she hopes no one can answer. To erase her past, Katherine has moved to a new city, enrolled in a new school, and even changed her name. She’s done the next best thing to disappearing altogether. Now, wary and alone, she seeks nothing more than anonymity. What she finds instead is the last thing she expected: a friend.

Even more unlikely, Katherine’s new friend is the most popular and magnetic girl in school. Extroverted, gorgeous, flirtatious, and unpredictable, she is everything that Katherine is not and doesn’t want to be: the center of attention. Yet Alice’s enthusiasm is infectious, her candor sometimes unsettling, and Katherine, in spite of her guarded caution, finds herself drawn into Alice’s private circle.

But Alice has secrets, too—darker than anyone can begin to imagine. And when she lets her guard down at last, Katherine discovers the darkest of them all. For there will be no escaping the past for Katherine Patterson—only a descent into a trap far more sinister . . . and infinitely more seductive.

pastel dots

My thoughts:

Wow this book surprised me. When I first started reading this book, I really didn’t have any expectations. I just know that the plot sounded interesting and that this was an required reading for my english class. Yep. However, after finishing the first chapter I knew I was going to have a hard time putting this book down.

Simply put, Beautiful Malice is a book about friendship with minor themes including abusive relationships, family, grief, love and betrayal. This book revolve around the main character Katherine Patterson and her last year of high school and more importantly, dealing with grief. Early on in the story, the readers learned that Katherine has a troubled past and she had moved from Melbourne to Sydney to finish her last year of high school. The novel also introduced Alice Parrie – a popular, party loving girl in Katherine’s high school and the lovely friendship they have.

"I didn't go to Alice's funeral."

What I really loved about this book is how Rebecca James (the author) set up a mystery (Katherine sister’s death) early on in the book, but never reveal it immediately. Instead, she puts clues in between the chapters so that the reader can have their own imagination of what actually happened.

I also really love the alternating chapters and flashbacks. It was confusing for me at first because some of the chapters are in present time, while others were flashbacks of the incident. But after grasping the point of view of which the author was writing from in Katherine’s life, the chapters became really interesting and allowed me to paste together the clues leading up the the big reveal of the mystery. With that said, I would highly recommend reading this book in one setting because that’s what I did or else you might be lost in the alternating chapters and flashbacks. Books are better to be finished in one setting right?

"Your own ragged breath is loud in your ears, deafening, but you 
imagine you can hear them behind you, so you run faster."

The amount of life lessons in this book is also crazy. I’ve learned a lot of things in this book such as never take a drink from someone you don’t know and never get too drunk (even though I’m only 14 I still think it’s important for the future).

Well, the mystery was resolved and you think that’s it? NOPE. Apparently Rebecca James has a different plan which will knock you off your feet. I didn’t see that coming and I honestly don’t think anyone saw it coming either. If you did, you are a legend. In all seriousness please go pick up this book and read it. I would recommend this book to everyone that likes a short read and it’s worth it I promise! After all, it’s only 283 pages long.

Have you heard of Beautiful Malice? Do you think the plot is interesting? 🙂

I’d love to hear your thoughts. ❤

Happy reading!

Breanna x

 

6 thoughts on “Review: Beautiful Malice By Rebecca James

Leave a Reply

