review

Review: The Ugly Teapot (Hannah #1) By Fred Holmes

Hello book lovers!

Today I’m going to be reviewing The Ugly Teapot by Fred Holmes. I received a digital copy of this book from the author in exchange for a honest review.

Alright, let’s get onto the review!

the-ugly-teapot-2500x1563-amazon-smashwords-kobo-apple-w-review

 

Title: The Ugly Teapot (Hannah #1)

Author: Fred Holmes

Date Published: March 25, 2016

Publisher: CreateSpace

Available Formats: ebook and paperback

Source: ebook

Genre(s): YA, fantasy

Page count: 205 pages

 

My rating (out of 5):

purple4

Link to Goodreads       Link to Amazon

Blurb on Goodreads:

Fourteen-year-old Hannah Bradbury loved her father so much that she worried about him constantly. After all, he was a photographer who traveled to the most dangerous places in the world.

To allay her fears, each time he came home he brought her silly gifts, each one with supposed magical powers: the Seal of Solomon, the Ring of Gyges, even Aladdin’s Lamp. It was that lamp Hannah found the most unbelievable, for it looked like an ugly teapot. Nevertheless, her father assured her it was real, and made her promise to save her three wishes for something very special.

Then . . . six months later . . . the unthinkable happened. Her father was killed while on assignment to Baghdad. And so on the day of his funeral Hannah did something she never thought she would ever do.

She took out that teapot and gave it a rub . . .

graydivider

My thoughts:

I really enjoyed reading this book! I love the idea of incorporating Aladdin’s lamp in the plot. I’ve never seen that done before so it’s great that authors are creating original ideas. I imagined that the story stayed true to the story of Aladdin (the Disney movie) but I could be wrong as I’ve only seen the movie once when I was a little kid!

The prologue was done extremely well as I got hooked into the story straight away. Also, I really want to comment on the length of the chapters. Even thought there were 38 chapters in this book I feel like that it wasn’t really that long. I think that this is because some chapters were 17 pages, and others were 5 pages. I really like how the Fred Holmes structured it since I mostly read on the train and this made it a lot easier to continue with the story.

The main character, Hannah Bradbury, is a fearless 14 year old girl who’s trying to save her dad desperately and I related to her a lot partly because I’m also 14 and I’ve always imagined to go on an adventure with my dad.

The plot twist at the end completely took me by surprised and this proves that Fred Holmes did a great job at making the plot unpredictable. Through out this book, there were lots of twist and turns and WTH JUST HAPPENED moments who will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

The only downside in the story was that I got confused between the characters Gus and Griff, as these characters had similar names but one of it is a dog. It’s all good though because I figured it out as I kept on reading. But I really loved the idea of dogs having the ability to communicate with humans.

Also, I do feel that this is more of a middle grade novel than a YA novel. Overall, I really enjoyed reading The Ugly Teapot.

Have you read The Ugly Teapot? If so, what are your thoughts on it?

Leave me your thoughts below. I’d love to hear them! ❤

Happy reading! x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Review: The Ugly Teapot (Hannah #1) By Fred Holmes

  1. I’d heard of this one and I was intrigued because of the title.😂 I’m glad it was a good book also! And it sounds really sweet and such an original and cool twist on the original Aladdin story?! I AM INTRIGUED.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

Leave a Reply

