review

Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children By Ransom Riggs

Hello book lovers!

Today I’m going to be reviewing Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children By Ransom Riggs. So, I’ve been wanting to read this book for a long time but I didn’t get around to do it due to the freaky cover and the HUGE amount of books that’s on my TBR. Well, since it’s October (meaning it’s nearly Halloween) I thought that I would read it AND before I started reading this book I saw the movie trailer and I was like ‘THAT LOOKS FANTASTIC!’ Turns out that this book was fantastic!

Also, the movie just came out and I’m planning to watch it with a few of my friends 🙂 I’ll be sure to let you know how it went!

Now let’s get onto the review, shall we?

missperegrinecover

 

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

(Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children #1)

Author: Ransom Riggs

Date Published: June 7,2011

Avalible Format(s): Paperback, Hardback, ebook

Publisher: Quirk Books

Genre(s): YA, Fantasy, fiction

My rating (out of 5):

purple5

Summary on Goodreads:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

greendivider

My thoughts:

I’m not gonna lie, I originally thought that this was a horror story because of the freaky cover. But let me tell you, this is NOT a horror story even though the cover looks like it. Don’t let the book cover fool you! (I did, anyway)

Okay, how can I begin this… I can simply say that this book was fantastic and I love the plot of this story. I’ve never read anything similar to this story before and I found the world so interesting. I love Ransom Rigg’s writing style and that truly makes the characters connect to you. Also, I love how he included lots of pictures to make this wonderful world more realistic!

*I’m gonna get into detail for the characters so if you don’t want to get spoiled on who the characters are then just come back after you’ve read the book!*

Abraham Portman: I really love this character! At first I thought that he was kind of crazy with all the weird stories and pictures that he told Jacob about but I connected to this character and in the end I understood that he loved Jacob and that’s why he wanted to protect him.

Jacob Portman: I feel bad for Jacob because he’s just thrown into this magical world without knowing anything about it. However, I think that he’s fearless and he managed it very well.

Emma Bloom: I love her fierce and bossy personality. In some ways she kind of reminds me of Hermione in HP.

These were just some of the main characters as I simply can’t review all of the characters in the peculiar home!

As crazy as it sounds, for me it’s harder to review a fantastic book than a book which I don’t really like. At least I can tell you what I didn’t like, but for a book that’s amazing I can’t really tell you ALL of the things that I like; just because there are so many of them!

However, I do want to make a suggestion for y’all. I read this book on my computer as an ebook and I found that it would be better if you read it in a physical copy as there are many pictures in the book and you can actually get a closer look at it in a physical copy. 🙂

Have you read Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children yet? If yes, what did you think about it? Are you excited about the movie?

Leave me your thoughts below! I’d love to hear them. 🙂

Happy reading! x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children By Ransom Riggs

  1. I absolutely loved the entire Miss Peregrine’s Series! I just finished Library of Souls last night and am currently reading The Tales of the Peculiar! I’m so glad that you liked it as much as I did! I agree it’s defiantly not a horror.. There are some creepy parts, they are amazing though and nothing scary!

    I have spoiler free reviews for all 3 books on my blog if you wanted to check them out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

