haul

Book Haul: August!

Hello book lovers!

A few days ago I went to the book store and bought a few books because there was a huge discount. The book stores here in HK doesn’t have discounted books very often so of course I have to go and pick up some books!

 

Slide1.jpg

Originally, I wasn’t going to purchase three books. I was only going to pick up The Serpent King because this book is getting a lot of hype on book tube. But in Page One (the book store) there was a deal which is when you spend $300 HKD you get discounted for $100 HKD. For example, if you buy 3 books that’s a hundred dollars each (yes books are really expensive in hk) then you only have to pay $200 HKD. Sounds Awesome right?

The books that I purchased are:

  • Broken Sky By L.A Weatherly
  • Death, Dickinson, and the demented life of Frenchie Garcia By Jenny Torres Sanchez
  • The Serpent King By Jeff Zentner

Slide2.jpg

I haven’t read any contemporary novels yet (don’t hate me) so I thought I should give it a shot. These books all has great ratings on Goodreads so I think I will be fine. I’m currently reading the book thief by Markus Zusak and death is the narrator of the book. I found it quite interesting so I thought I’ll pick up another book with similar themes.

Broken Sky is an interesting one. The blurb on the back revealed very little of the plot and I was immediately drawn to this book. And yes, it’s a dystopian trilogy. Hopefully I can get to this trilogy soon and finish it. (I have a tendency of not finishing series/trilogies and starting new ones. Whoops!) I love dystopian novels!

I know, I know. The books are Paperbacks. Unlike the bookstores in US, there’s basically NONE hardback edition of books in hk. It sucks.Hardback books are so pretty on the shelve but you do have to pay more for it. I just wish that I have an option to choose from.

Have you read any books that I’ve mentioned above? Did you like it or is it still on your TBR? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

10 thoughts on “Book Haul: August!

  1. I noticed all your books are really dark (colorwise) 🙂
    Haven’t read any of those books, but they look good. (especially The Serpent King) Hope you enjoy them!

    Like

  2. Wow! Books are really expensive… I’m glad you got a sale! Also, the cover of Death, Dickinson, and the demented life of Frenchie Garcia is absolutely stunning. I wasn’t the biggest fan of The Serpent King, but I’m DEFINITELY in the minority, so I hope you love it! Happy reading Breanna 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

