review

Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter #8) By JK Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Throne

Hello book lovers!

Today I will be reviewing a book from my favourite series of all time- you guessed it, it’s Harry Potter and the cursed child.When JK Rowling first announced that there will be a new HP book back in February, everyone freaked out. LITERALLY EVERYONE. A couple days after the book came out, my whole subscription page on youtube was filled with reviews and rants of this book. Base on my observation, people either loved it or hate it. This made me really nervous to read cursed child because I’m scared that I won’t enjoy it.

Let’s just say I have mixed feelings about this book.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_Cover

 

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Author: JK Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Date Published: 31 July, 2016

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Little Brown UK

Genre(s): Fantasy, Playscript

My rating (out of 5):

purple4

Summary on Goodreads:

The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

smalllightpinkdots.png

* THE SECTION BELOW CONTAINS SPOILERS*

My thoughts:

So much hype, yet I didn’t love it. I really enjoyed it though and I loved being back in this world. I really enjoyed all the twist and turns through out this book. Oh my goodness Delphi. JUST ARGGGG and WHY. Aww, Scorpius is so sweet! I really like him and he definitely deserves better. Hermione is still bossy and nerdy which I’m really glad that she didn’t change much since the last book.

I don’t know if it’s just me, but Harry seems so unfamiliar to me. It’s almost as if he’s another person, not the Harry I’ve known for the last seven books. Why’s Harry shouting at Albus all the time? I really don’t understand. He saids he doesn’t have a father figure Also, why is Draco so polite all of a sudden? I thought he didn’t like Harry back in Hogwarts.

I’m upset that Teddy Lupin didn’t appear in the story.

THE TROLLEY WITCH. Hmmm… Why all of a sudden the sweets can be used as weapons? Pumpkin Pastry being thrown like a grenade and explodes? What a joke.

Overall, I really enjoyed cursed child even though there’re somethings I didn’t really enjoy. I would recommend this to Harry Potter fans though.

What are your thoughts on cursed child? Do you agree with what I thought?

 

9 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter #8) By JK Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Throne

  1. I basically agree with all your thoughts! I enjoyed it mostly but there were definitely bothersome things.

    1) Harry didn’t feel like the character I LOVE so dearly
    2) Trolley Witch, what the heck is up with you?
    3) Where’s my precious Teddy?

    Great review Breanna!

    Emily @ Reader Rising

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! There were some parts that didn’t enjoy such as the ridiculous amount of plot twists in the story. I really like some of the plot twist but there were a couple ones that I felt like they included it just because they thought the fans would love it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

